Shine 3D – Put on your Red/Blue Chompers 3D Glasses

Posted: September 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

Watch fullscreen for best depth.

Shine is the first little piece of the Chompers’ world brought to life. In this piece you’ll see some of the pacing, humour, and, of course, puppets that will make the Chompers world.

Why Puppets?

About a month ago I finished storyboard panel 2,505. As I sat there looking at the story and action that the script called for I realized I would have to make huge sacrifices if I tried to make the movie they way I’ve made most of my other shorts. The movie is just too big. Too much action, too much gore, too much good stuff. I want to show the audience the whole movie. Not some watered down compromise. Since I had already committed to making the monster a puppet, it wasn’t that big of a leap to making the whole movie with puppets.

But first, a test film.

In order to see if I could carry it off, I decided to make a narrative test short. The result is Shine. I am very happy with the way it turned out and more confident than ever that Chompers is gonna be great.

Leave a Reply

